This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

26 March 2010

The 2nd Annual Dr MS Ramaiah Memorial Parliamentary Debate 2010‏

Dear Debaters,

After being the first debate tournament in India to give prize money for adjudicators, and implementing MPJs for break rounds, The Literary & Debating Society, M S Ramaiah Institute of Technology (MSRIT), Bangalore, India is proud to present the second edition of the "Dr M.S. Ramaiah Memorial Parliamentary Debate" (MSRM).

The tournament will be conducted from 9th -11th of April 2010, at MSRIT, Bangalore, India. The tournament will follow a three-on-three Asians format. There is a 32 team cap with cross-institutional teams allowed.There will be 5 preliminary rounds with a break to quarter-finals, and a novice finals for the two top ranked two novice teams on the tabs. And for the first time, there will be prize money on offer for novice champions as well.

Like last year, the primary foci of this tournament will be quality adjudication and transparency. In keeping with this, all tab and feedback related documents, as well as ballot sheets will be made available to all participants, at the end of the tournament. We have taken every effort to ensure that we provide you with a clean, high quality debate, which will also serve as a learning experience, prior to the international debating season. To ensure the highest quality of debating, we're proud to have on board Yaman Verma, All-Asians Champion-2008 and prospective DCA for UADC-2010 as a part of our adjudication core.

Please do send in your registrations at the earliest, since slots are expected to fill up quickly. All registrations will be done on a first-come-first-served basis. We follow the N1 rule – one adjudicator per team. The team cap is set to three teams per institution. Cross-institutional teams are also allowed. All debaters must be full-time University students. Accommodation is also being provided for out-station teams upon request. Please do contact our accommodations coordinator, Atin for more details.

Also, do join our facebook group (!/group.php?gid=71422206729&ref=ts  ) and the corresponding event at the bottom left, for regular updates.

We look forward to seeing you at MSRM-2010. Please feel free to contact the conveners for registrations and for any clarifications.

See you in April,

Warm Regards,
The MSRIT DebSoc

Kumar Sheshank
Tauseef Ahmed
Atin Tandon
Skanda Prasad

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.