This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

21 November 2011

BPP Win the 2011 Cambridge IV

Dear All,

We want to thank all the teams and judges that came to The Clifford Chance Cambridge IV 2011 and hope they all enjoyed the competition.

The Open Final was won by BPP A, Jack Watson and Doog Cochran. They defeated Oxford BC (Steph Bell and Jen Coyne), Oxford BW (Ben Woolgar and Hugh Burns) and Loyola (James Kilcup and Dearbhail O’Crowley) in the final. Jack Watson topped the speaker tab.

Utrecht (Danique van Koppenhagen and Tomas Beerthuis) won the ESL final, with Danique topping the speaker tab.

The full tab is available here: 

The motions were:
R1: THW allow family members to forcibly commit proven alcoholics and drug addicts to rehabilitation clinics.
R2: THBT all research organizations should institute codes of conduct that forbid the creation of Strong AI.
R3: THW provide financial assistance to inner city neighborhoods to prevent gentrification
R4: THBT China should make extracting a full apology for Japan's War Crimes a top strategic priority
R5: THBT feminists should not campaign against polygamy in poor countries.

Open QF: THBT the use of conscripted soldiers should be a war crime.
ESL SF: THW take the children of the Amish into care

Open SF: TH regrets the rise of a distinct African American Culture
ESL Final: THB that it is morally legitimate for Occupy Movement to use violence to undermine capitalist institutions
Open Final: THW break up Google's Search Monopoly

A special thanks goes to Shengwu Li and Nathalie Smith for being two of most creative and sensible people to work with on an adjudication team. Thanks to Jack Gamble and Rebecca Meredith for their hard work as Deputy Convenors. And to James Hardy and Maria English for the countless hours they put in to make the competition run.

We hope to see you all around soon,
Harish Natarajan
Co-CA The Clifford Chance Cambridge IV 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.