This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

9 April 2011

South African National Universities Debating Championships

Dear Debating Community

The Tuks Debating Union cordially invites you to the 16th annual South African National Universities’ Debating Championships, dubbed “Nationals 2011,” hosted at the University of Pretoria from the 9th until the 15th of July 2011, which is proudly sponsored by Standard Bank.


Both the registration and training components of Nationals 2011 will run online, and the website can be found at, under the NUDC portal (look for the Nationals 2011 logo). The website will function as a means of communication, as well as a means to provide you with the information you may require about the competition. The training component of the site is up and running and you can expect more content to be loaded shortly. The registration link will appear when registration opens on the dates indicated below.

Registration and Fee

Registration will be divided into two periods – Early registration and late registration. Early registration will run from the 29th of April to the 27th of May, while late registration will run from 30th of May to the 10th of June. The registration fee for early registration will be R650.00 per delegate, while the late registration fee will be R850.00 per delegate

Registration will run on an “Institutional Representative” system. Each institution will register a single representative, who will then be responsible for entering all the registration data for their institution. This process will be explained in more detail closer to the opening of registration.



Team Slots

Each institution is guaranteed 4 team slots at the competition during early registration. The initial team cap has remained the same as previous years due to the interests of a number of new institutions in joining “Nationals 2011”. If you wish to apply for additional team slots, you can do so once registration opens by sending an e mail to . These additional slots are not guaranteed and will only be allocated after the close of early registration, if there are still slots available. The additional slots will be offered one per institution, in the order for which they were applied.


The “n-1” rule for adjudicators will apply. If you send n teams, you will be required to send n-1 adjudicators. We reserve the right to adjust the number of team slots available to your institution if you do not meet the n-1 requirement for adjudicators. You will be allowed to send a maximum of n+1 adjudicators to the competition. If you wish to send additional adjudicators (over the n+1 limit), you can apply by the same process as for additional team slots. These places will be awarded in the same manner as for team slots.

If you have any queries about Nationals 2011, please feel free to contact me. We look forward to seeing you in the Jacaranda City in July!


Stephen Thompson Convener: Nationals 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.