This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

22 November 2009

Victoria IV 2009 Results

The New Zealand British Parliamentary Debating Champs (the Victoria IV) finished yesterday in Wellington. The Chief Adjudicator was Gareth Richards.

Winners: Victoria University of Wellington (Udayan Mukherjee and Paul Smith)

Runners-Up: University of Sydney (Pat Caldwell and Eliza Forsyth), Victoria University of Wellington (Stephen Whittington and Polly Higbee), "Steam" (Matt Cuthell and Ryan Orange)

Semi-finalists: Victoria University of Wellington (Kathy Scott-Dowell and Richard D'Ath), Jonathan Orpin and Ellen Thomson, Holly Jenkins and Josh Cameron, "Yogaskaran" (Max Harris and Akif Malik)

Top 10 Speakers:

1. Jonathan Orpin
2. Stephen Whittington (Victoria University of Wellington)
3. Polly Higbee (Victoria University of Wellington)
4= Clodagh O'Connor-McKenna (Victoria University of Wellington)
5= Sam Greenland (University of Sydney)
5= Richard D'Ath (Victoria University of Wellington)
5= Josh Cameron
5= Pat Caldwell (University of Sydney)
9= Hugh McCaffrey (Victoria University of Wellington)
9= Kathy Errington (University of Auckland)

Best Novice: Ellen Thomson


R1 - This House would destroy the results of unethical research
R2 - This House believes the European Union should be an economic union, not a political union
R3 - This House would ban cosmetic surgery
R4 - This house would pay for the return of hostages
R5 - This House believes groups should have to give up their weapons in order to stand for political office
R6 – This House would end all censorship apart from age restrictions
Semi - This House would legalise the baby trade
Grand Final – This House would prevent criminals from publishing accounts of their crimes

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.