This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

14 October 2009

Oxford win UCL 2009

From Britishdebate:

Hello everyone,

Many congratulations to Oxford LW, Arthur Learoyd & Leo Watkins, who last night won the UCL President's Cup 2009. Many congratulations also to Oxford BC (Hugh Burns & Jen Coyne), Cambridge JN (Jack Gamble & Natalie Smith) and Cambridge WP (Will Bott & Pierpaolo Barbieri) for reaching the final.

I'd like to repeat my many thanks to Anjana, the Convenor, for her superb organisation of the competition, to all the UCL helpers who made the event possible, to Bryn Gough for being such a great DCA, and to Stephen Goodman for tabbing the competition.

I'd also like to repeat my thanks to all the judges that came along and provided one of the best judging pools at a competition I have yet seen. When an preliminary round panel contains two world champions, a worlds finalist, european champion and euros finalist, I'm not sure things can get much better.

Stephen will be releasing the tab shortly, in the meantime I'd also like to congratulate Jack Gamble from Cambridge for topping the speaker tab. The top-ten speakers are listed below:

1. Jack Gamble
2. Ben Woolgar
3. Jen Coyne
4. Hugh Burns
5=. Pierpaolo Barbieri
5=. Natalie Smith
7. Lauren Pringle
8. Will Bott
9. Ben Lewy
10. Scott Ralston

Many congratulations, and many thanks to everyone,

Jonathan Leader Maynard
Chief Adjudicator, UCL President's Cup 2009

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.