This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

26 April 2009

The John Smith Memorial Mace

The 55th Final of The English-Speaking Union John Smith Memorial Mace took place on Friday evening at The Signet Library, Edinburgh. The motion before the House was 'This House Believes That Development Aid To Africa Does More Harm Than Good'.
The five judges were:

- Alan Merson (Chair)
- Nick Pacheco
- Beth James
- Ciarán Lawlor
- Sam Block
The draw was:
1st Prop - Ireland (Represented by Trinity College Dublin, College Historical Society - Josephine Curry and Shane Farragher)
1st Opp - England (Represented by The Oxford Union Society - Jonathan Leader Maynard and Alex Worsnip)
2nd Prop - Scotland (Represented by St. Andrews University - Tom Cahn and Daniel Berman)
2nd Opp - Wales (Represented by Cardiff University - Matthew Clarke and Craig Sutherland)
The winners were The Oxford Union Society. The Kenneth Harris Memorial Prize for Best Speaker went to Josephine Curry of Trinity College Dublin.
Before the debate, The Lord Provost of Edinburgh, The Rt Hon George Grubb and the Minister for Skills and Schools, Keith Brown MSP, addressed the audience - over 100 people attended the debate.

The John Smith Memorial Mace is generously sponsored by Baillie Gifford, the Edinburgh-based Investment Management firm.

Best wishes,



  1. Are there any videos of recent debates available? I'm getting my students to debate as part of L2 fluency exercise, and would like them to watch some real student debating. I have been unable to find any. Thanks.

  2. Hi Chiew.
    Best place to look for videos is

    Hope that helps.



Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.