This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

22 July 2007

Philippine Inter-Collegiate Debating Championship 2007

The AdMU reaped numerous achievements in the recently concluded Philippine Inter-Collegiate Debating Championship 2007: UPD-A and AdMU made it to the finals round of the Asian Parliamentary format tournament which is regarded as the National Debating Championship in The Philippines.

It was AdMU-A however, composed of Sharmila Parmanand, Leloy Claudio, and Miko Biscocho, who won the championship title by a 5-2 vote from the adjudication panel. Nevertheless UPD won runner-up as the affirmative side debating on the motion

"This house believes that the youth’s political maturity is ill-served by their generation’s representatives in print media."

These achievements came on top of UPDS’s successful organization of the 4-day tournament in which was held in Luisita, Tarlac and co-presented with the Tarlac Conventions and Visitors Bureau, the North Philippines Visitors Bureau, and the Benigno S. Aquino Foundation. With the theme Filipino Minds, Global Perspectives, the tournament was hosted by the UP Debate Society in line with its continuing mission of nurturing debating and critical thinking skills among the youth.

Grand Champion
AdMU A: Sharmila Parmanand, Miko Biscocho and Leloy Claudio by a 5-2 vote from the adjudication panel

UPD A: Anna Arcellana, Nicolo Cabrera, and Claire Jiao

Best Speaker of the Finals
Miko Biscocho of AdMU A

Top 10 Best Speakers
7th (tied )- Judilyn Sison (UST), Dino de Leon (DLSU), Sabrina Gacad (UPD), Eric Javeloza (UST)
4th (tied)- Miko Biscocho (AdMU), Estelle Osorio (DLSU), Claire Jiao (UPD)
3rd - Sharmila Parmanand (AdMU)
2nd - Nicolo Cabrera (UPD)
1st - Leloy Claudio (AdMU)

Best Rookie Team
UP Baguio A: Abel Quintos, Jahzeel Cruz, and Arlene Bonifacio

Best Adjudicator
Yves Saint-James Aquino (UPM)

Philippine Representative to the ESU-International Public Speaking Competition
Weber Amores (FEU).
Source: and

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.