This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

3 February 2010

Irish Times Semi Finals

Details of the Semi Finals of the 2010 Irish Times Debating Championships.  One team and one Individual progress from each semi.

Semi-Final A

“This House Would Abolish the Parades Commission of Northern Ireland”

Chairman: Tommie Gorman
Northern Editor, RTE

DATE: Friday, 29th January, 2010

VENUE: IPLS Lecture Theatre, Institute of Professional Legal Studies, Belfast

UCD L&H (1) Julia Lawlor & (9) Rebecca McGrath
UCD L&H (2) Barry Singleton & (10) Niall Fahy
TCD Phil (3) Brian O’Beirne & (11) Jonathan Wyse
TCD Hist (4) Niamh Ni Mhaoileain & (12) Niall Sherry

(5) John Beechinor (UCC Law)
(6) Ian Boyle-Harper (UCD L&H)
(7) Fiona Shine (ICAI)
(8) Sean Butler (NUIG Lit & Deb)

Progressing TCD Hist (Niamh Ni Mhaoileain & Niall Sherry) and Sean Butler (NUIG Lit & Deb)

Semi-Final B
“This House Believes that the 1916 Rising Was Treason Against Ireland”

Chairman: The Hon. Mr. Justice Adrian Hardiman
Judge of the Supreme Court & Twice Winner, The Irish Times Debate

DATE: Monday, 1st February, 2010

VENUE: Bencher’s Room, The Honorable Society of King’s Inns

UL Debating Union (1) David Hartery & (9) Maurice Cotter
King’s Inns (2) Eoghan Casey & (10) Paddy Rooney
UCC Philosoph (3) Eoghan McSwiney & (11) Kieran Murphy
UCD L&H (4) Ian Hastings & (12) Conor McAndrew

(5) Ceile Varley (DCU Deb Soc)
(6) Robert Crowley (King’s Inns)
(7) John Smyth (IT Carlow)
(8) Aengus O Corrain (TCD Phil)
Progressing: UCD L&H (Ian Hastings and Conor McAndrew) and Aengus O'Corrain (TCD Phil)

Semi-Final C
“This House Would Not Welcome a School Established by the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in Ireland”

DATE: Thursday, 4th February, 2010

VENUE: Council Room, Law Society of Ireland, Blackhall Place

UCD L&H (1) Aoife McDonagh & (9) Dearbhla O’Gorman
TCD Hist (2) Huw Duffy & (10) Barra Rowntree
King’s Inns (3) Niall O hUiginn & (11) Shane Cranley
UCD L&H (4) Kieran Daly & (12) Michael Conroy

(5) Emily Ravenscroft (NUIG Lit & Deb)
(6) Emma Regan (TCD Phil)

(7) Michael MacGrath (King’s Inns)
(8) Ciaran Parkin (TCD Hist)

Semi-Final D
“This House Believes that the Next Government of Ireland Should Be Led by the Labour Party”

Chairman: Senator Rónán Mullen
Member of Seanad Eireann & the only former winner of The Irish Times Debate to have won election to the Oireachtas

DATE: Friday, 5th February, 2010
VENUE: House of Lords, Bank of Ireland, College Green, Dublin 2; (hosted here by UCD Literary & Historical Society)

TCD Law (1) Ross O’Mahoney & (9) Mark Thullier
DCU (2) Kenneth Hynes & (10) David Brady
UCD L&H (3) Eoghan Sheehy & (11) Janine Ryan
King’s Inns (4) Deirdre O’Donohoe & (12) Aine Hartigan

(5) Robbie Henderson (RCSI)
(6) Sean O’Quigley (Griffith College Dublin)
(7) Charles O’Donnell (UCD L&H)

(8) Liam O’Connell (UCD L&H)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.