This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

17 September 2008

Oxford Schools 2008/2009

Oxford Schools 2008
Registration for the 2008/09 Mayer Brown Oxford Schools' Debating Competition is now open. To register, visit

The Oxford Schools' Competition featured over 1000 students (including a few World Champions...) from the UK, Canada and Ireland in 2007/08, making it the largest British Parliamentary Debating Competition in the country.

The competition's regional workshops will take place in the term before Christmas, followed by regional rounds in early 2009 in which each team will compete in two debates. From the regional rounds around 80 teams will progress to Finals' Day in Oxford in early March.

This year, schools can enter up to three teams, with a maximum of two teams breaking to Finals' Day from any one school. Entry fees are £36 (1 team), £72 (2 teams) or £92 (3 teams). Bursaries to cover entry fees and/or travel costs are available for schools that, because of their financial situation, would not otherwise be able to participate in the competition.

If you have any questions, just visit or email

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.