This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

17 March 2008

Hart House Dominate CUSID Nationals

Hart House dominated the Canadian National Debating Championships this past weekend: both teams in the final and at least the top three speakers.

Hart House D (Monica Ferris & Jon Laxer) defeated Hart House A (Richard Lizius & Paul-Erik Dash Veel) from Government, making the case that blackmail should be legal.

McGill A (Leon Grek & Vinay Kumar Mysore) and C (Padraic Scanlan & Sophie MacIntyre) were semi-finalists, and Hart House B (John Ashbourne and Adam Lazier), Western SS (Wajid Sayeed & Zachary Schwartz), Carleton D (Adam Coombs & Garnett Genuis) and McGill B (Catherine Evans & Saro Setrakian) fell in quarterfinals. Queen's WM (Sheldon McCormick & Christine Wadsworth) placed ninth after a special half-octofinal round to determine the winner of a tie for 8th place.

Vinay Kumar Mysore from McGill was the best public speaker at the event, edging out Alexander Levy from Hart House. Giorgio Traini, also from Hart House, was the top novice speaker... and with George Trotter, triumphed over Alberta TB (Ian Burch and Byron Tse) in the Novice Final.

Richard Lizius was the top speaker, followed by Monica Ferris and Jon Laxer.

Adam Coombs from Carleton is the new President, joining the University of Ottawa's Alex Amar and York University's Rudi M. Lof as the 2008-2009 CUSID Executive.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.