This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

7 January 2008

Full Results from Worlds 2008

I have just been sent the "official" full set of results. Many of these were already known but in some cases (comedy, public speaking etc) it provides much more detail.

28th World Universities Debating Champions are:Oxford A (Lewis Iwu and Samir Deger-Sen)

The Runner-ups are:
Cambridge B (Daniel Elijah Warrents and Mhairi Murdoch)
Monash A (Tim Jeffrie and Fiona Prowse)Sydney A (Dom Thurbon and Chris Croke)

Speaker of the House
Kylie Lane, Deputy Chief Adjudicator

The judges for the Grand Finals of the 28th World Universities Debating Championship are:
1. Deirdre O’Donohoe University College Dublin, Law
2. Diarmuid Early from Harvard
3. Suthen 'Tate' Thomas from Multimedia University
4. Neil Harvey-Smith, Independent
5. Ian Lising from University of La Verne
6. Ciaran Lawlor, Deputy Chief Adjudicator
7. Beth O’Connor, Deputy Chief Adjudicator
8. Joanna Nairn, Deputy Chief Adjudicator
9. Rajesh Krishnan, Chief Adjudicator (Chair)

The Top 10 Speakers are:
Best Speaker: Sam Block from Cambridge A with 790 points
2nd Place: Samir Deger-Sen from Oxford Union A with 781 points
2nd Place: Joshua Bone from Yale A with 781 points
4th Place: Adam Bott from Cambridge A with 779 points
5th Place: Kitson Symes from Oxford Union D with 757 points
5th Place: Lewis Iwu from Oxford Union A with 757 points
5th Place: Naomi Oreb from Sydney Union C with 757 points
8th Place: Andrew Rohrbach from Yale A with 756 points
9th Place: Richard Lizius from Hart House B with 754 points
10th Place: Fiona Prowse from Monash A with 750 points

The Winners of the ESL category are:
Amsterdam B (Reinier de Adelhart Toorop and Anne Valkering )

The ESL Runner-ups are:
IIUM D (Danial Abdul Rahman and Ahmad Lutfi Torla)
Tilbury A (Assen Kochev and Kai Menzel)
IIUM C (Yasat Sarwar and Khalidah Nazihah Muhammad Abdull Jamil)

The Top 5 Speakers for the ESL are:
Best Speaker: Catharine Kho Tjing Yiing from Malaya A with 693 points
2nd Place: Zuliana Razali from Malaya A with 689 points
3rd Place: Siti Astrid Kusumawardhani from Indonesia A with 684 points
4th Place: Kai Menzel from Tilbury A with 682 points
4th Place: Haran Pilpel from Hebrew B with 682 points

The judges for the ESL Finals are:
1. Elizabeth Sheargold from University of Melbourne
2. Nicholas James Long from Cambridge University
3. Gavin Illsley from Oxford Union
4. Alex Hill from Oxford Union
5. Tom Chapman from Monash University
6. Jess Lopez from Ateneo De Manila University
7. Ivan Ah Sam from Sydney Union (Chair)


The Winners of the EFL category are:
Keio A (Yoko Sako and Yui Miyaichi)

The EFL Runner-ups are:
Tsuda College B (Arisa Narisawa and Yukari Yamaguchi)
Shanghai Fudan A (Wang Chengying and Huang Cheng)
DAE B (Dami Park and Youngjun Hur)

The Best Speaker for the EFL is:
Best Speaker: Leung Ching Man Fiona from Macau B

The judges for the EFL Finals are:
1. Sam Greenland from Sydney Union
2. Anna Garsia from Sydney Union
3. Deirdre Millner from University College Cork, Law
4. Stephanie Co from Ateneo De Manila University
5. Steve Johnson from University of Alaska (Chair)

The winners for the Exxon Mobil Masters is:
Winners: "Guinea – Bissau" (Will Jones from Oxford Union and James Dray from Oxford Union)
The judges for the Masters Final are:
1. J Scott Rodriguez from CALIFORNIA STATE University
2. Adam Bott from Cambridge University
3. Can Okar from Koc University
4. Tom Chapman from Monash University
5. Ian Lising from University of La Verne (Chair)

The 2008 World Public speaking champion is: Jason Joseph Rogers from University of Toronto, Hart House
1st Runner-up: Sharon Ohayon from University of Alberta
2nd Runner-up: Josh Gross from Portland State University
Finalists: Daniel Berman from Bates College
Nathaniel Ware from the University of Sydney Union

The judges for the Public Speaking Final are:
1. Loke Wing Fatt from SAID
2. A. Piyanart Faktorngpan from Chulalongkorn University
3. Evan Green-Lowe from Brandeis University
4. Nick Long from Cambridge University
5. Allen Ewalt from Harvard University

The Best speakers for the Comedy Night Category are:
Best Speaker: Patrick Bateman University of Sydney Union
1st Runner-up: Josh Gross from Portland State University
2nd Runner-up: Monica Ferris from Hart House

The judges for the Comedy Night are:
1. Giles Robertson from Cambridge Union
2. David Janzen from Macquarie University
3. Rut Charaslertrangsi from Assumption University
4. Ruchir Jain from Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Preliminary Rounds:
Round 1: This House would allow the use of torture.
Round 2: This House believes that Taiwan should declare independence now
Round 3: THW not allow local government to pay for the relocation of homeless people.
Round 4: This House believes that the European Union should only direct aid to nations that pursue environmentally sustainable development.
Round 5: This House believes that every criminal defendant should be required to use a government provided defense lawyer.
Round 6: THW subject foreign political contributions to greater restrictions than domestic contributions.
Round 7: This House would assassinate Vladimir Putin.
Round 8: THB that governments should never rescue failing private industry.
Round 9: This House would deny scarce medical resources to terminally ill patients.

Break rounds
Octofinals: THB that governments in the developing world should invest in sex tourism.
Quarterfinals: This House would force religious adoption agencies to place children with homosexual couples.
Semifinals: THB that extreme economic need should be grounds for asylum.
Final: THB that people who give HIV to others must pay drug support.

Octofinals: This House would support the use of mercenaries by the United Nations.
Quarterfinals: This House would force religious adoption agencies to place children with homosexual couples.
Semifinals: This House would require doctors to report all cases of suspected domestic violence.
Final: This house believes that the Turkish military should stop enforcing the separation of church (mosque) and state

Final: This house would eliminate all non state-run schools

Round 1: This house regrets the passing of Bhutto
Round 2: This house would stop the search for the gay gene
Round 3: This house would let them eat whale
Final: This house would put an age limit on debating

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.