This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

5 November 2007

6th National Law School Debate - report

The 6th NLS Debate was held over four days (November 1-4, 2007) at the National Law School of India University (NLSIU) campus in Nagarbhavi,Bangalore. The tournament attracted participation from 42 teams (each consisting of 3 speakers and an accompanying judge) representing 23 educational institutions.

The ‘NLS Debate’, launched in 2002 by the Literary and Debating Society of NLSIU, has in the matter of a few years emerged as the India sub-continent’s largest parliamentary-style debating championship. It follows a rigorous format modeled on international competitions such as the All-Asian championships. The six editions held so far have attracted participation not only from the best Indian universities but have also drawn teams from Pakistan and Sri Lanka. We take pride in the fact that many teams who participate in the NLS Debate go on to perform exceedingly well in international competitions.

The grand final was contested between teams from Ram Jas College, New Delhi and Faculty of Law, Colombo University. The running trophy was won by the team from Ram Jas College which consisted of Harsh Malhotra, Kartik Mishra and Prithvi Rohan Kapoor. The winning team also took home a cash prize of Rs. 18,000 -/- while the runners-up team received Rs. 12,000 -/-. Cash prizes of Rs. 6,000 -/- each were also given to the losing semi-finalist teams from Kirori Mal College, New Delhi and St. Stephen’s College New Delhi. Harsh Malhotra of Ram Jas College was declared the ‘best speaker’ of the tournament (out of 126 speakers) while Parth Mehrotra of Kirori Mal College, New Delhi was declared the ‘second best speaker’ for the same. A special prize for ‘dignified’ conduct throughout the tournament was given to the team from Chanakya National Law University (CNLU), Patna.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.