This Blog has now moved to - all future posts will be made there!

19 July 2007

All-India Debating Championships 2007

The Frank Anthony Debate, organized by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations (CICSE), held this year at the Frank Anthony Public School, Kolkata. This debating championships is the most prestigious debating contest in India. Approximately 1600 schools take part in the preliminary rounds and zonal qualifications to reach one of 7 places in the Final round.

This year, the Dubai Modern High School, competed in the finals with a number of other prestigious schools such as the Doon School, Dehradun, St. Xavier’s, Kolkata, and St. James’, Kolkata, and eventually emerged champions.

Modern High’s Debate team, still celebrating from their win at the Chuckerbutty debates in Doon, as a result, completed a clean sweep by winning the two most prestigious debates in India. The team, comprising Kaushik Iyer and Shrivats Iyer, were accompanied by Aditya Srinivasan, Rajiv Naresh and Mr. Michael James.

The Motion before the House read:
“This House believes that the foundation of a healthy society needs the presence of a woman.”

Kaushik Iyer spoke for the motion, whilst Shrivats Iyer spoke against the motion.
Kaushik Iyer was named the 2nd Runner-Up Best Speaker, and through the efforts of both speakers, Modern High emerged triumphant at the Frank Anthony Memorial All-India Debate.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.